If you are interested in applying for a concealed carry license or concealed carry renewal, please review the following information on applying with the Athens County Sheriff’s Office. Please note that procedures may vary by county.
CONCEALED CARRY APPLICATIONS are accepted Monday – Friday 9:00 am – 3:00 pm. An appointment is not necessary. The application process takes approximately 15 minutes per person. DO NOT BRING YOUR FIREARM TO THE SHERIFF’S OFFICE.
Prior to applying you must first obtain eight hours of weapons proficiency training as required by law. You will need to bring your certificate of completion to the Sheriff’s Office when applying. Certificates expire three years after issuance. If you are active duty military or have been discharged within the past ten years, you may present a DD214 in lieu of a training certificate.
IF YOU ARE APPLYING FOR THE FIRST TIME you will need to complete an application which can be found at http://www.
IF YOU ARE APPLYING FOR A RENEWAL you will need to complete an application which can be found at http://www.
FEES ARE NONREFUNDABLE. If you have questions about your background investigation or eligibility for a license due to criminal charges, please consult an attorney prior to applying. Concealed carry fees are as follows:
Original License Ohio Resident For 5 Years: $67.00
Original License Ohio Resident For 5 Years (Photo Included): $75.00
Original License Not Ohio Resident For 5 Years: $91.00
Original License Not Ohio Resident For 5 Years (Photo Included): $99.00
Renewal License Ohio Resident For 5 Years: $50.00
Renewal License Ohio Resident For 5 Years (Photo Included): $58.00
Renewal License Not Ohio Resident For 5 Years: $74.00
Renewal License Not Ohio Resident For 5 Years (Photo Included): $82.00
Replacement License: $15.00
THE ATHENS COUNTY SHERIFF’S OFFICE DOES NOT ACCEPT CASH. Fees are payable by check, money order, credit, or debit card. Please note that a $3.95 convenience fee will be charged for use of any card.
PROCESSING TIMES may vary based on the amount of applications received by our office. Currently an original application takes approximately two weeks to process and a renewal roughly 7-10 days. If you have any questions regarding this information please feel free to call our office at 740.593.6633.
ATTENTION CCW Instructors – we request that the following information be on the training certificates you provide your students.
Name, Phone number and location of Training Company
Name of Instructor and their NRA or OPOTA number
Name of student
Date of course completion
A statement that the course meets or exceeds statutory requirements in ORC 2923.125
6 hours of academic classroom training and 2 hours of live firing range time training
Below is a sample of a certificate.
For additional assistance please contact our Concealed Carry Weapons Clerk, Deputy Chris McCauley at 740-566-4302 or by email at firstname.lastname@example.org.